To honour our football heroes of yesterday, today and tomorrow

British Columbia Pro Football Heroes...

Roy Dewalt
Norm Fieldgate
Mervyn Fernadez
Nick Hebeler
Joe Kapp
Al Wilson
Lui Passaglia
Willie Fleming
Jim Young
By Bailey

No. Player CFL Teams Years Games
#9 Roy Dewalt, QB BC Lions
BC Lions
#75 Norm Fieldgate, LB/DE BC Lions 1954-1967 223
#24 Mervyn Fernandez, WR BC Lions 1982-86, 1994 83
#58/99 Nick Hebeler, DE BC Lions 1979-85 86
#22 Joe Kapp, QB BC Lions
Calgary Stampeders
BC Lions
#52 Al Wilson, C/OG BC Lions 1972-86 233
#5 Lui Passaglia, K/P BC Lions 1976-2000 408
#15Willie Fleming, RB BC Lions 1959-66 124
#30 Jim Young, RB/WR BC Lions 1967-79 197
#38 By Bailey, FB/RB BC Lions 1954-64 158

Orange Helmet Pioneer Award Recipients

The BC Lions Pioneer Award celebrates the achievement of individuals who have been instrumental in the development and promotion of amateur football in BC. The recipients are committed to ensuring the prosperity of football in their communities by winning championships, building strong relationships, and building long-standing football clubs and programs. They have opened up opportunities for football in BC that would not be accessible to today’s youth without their tireless efforts.

Year Recipients
2006 Eric Hames, Frank Hindle,
Grant “Digger” MacLeod
2007 Harvey Sedgwick, Ken Smith
2008 Vancouver Blue Bombers 1947 Canadian Junior Football Champions
2009 Dan Doyle, Rob Mountford,
Maury Van Vliet
2010 Don Berger, Greg Kabat, Ken McKinnon, Denny Veitch
2011 Ron Docherty, Brant French, Arnold Nesdoly, Matt Phillips
2012 1982 Renfrew Trojans, Roy Gardiner, Roy Vollinger
2013 Hans Finken, John Hocking, Ed Murray
2014 Dave Easley, Terry Kehoe, Ranji Mattu, Peter Ohler
2015 Bill Cole, Brian Prentice, Paul Shortt
2016 Joe Connelly, Bill Kushnir, Bill Vance
2017 John Henry, Maury Mulhern, Jack Taska
2018 Tom Kudaba, Bill Quinter, Yeera Sami

Orange Helmet - Bob Ackles Lifetime Achievement Winners

The Bob Ackles Lifetime Achievement Award, presented at the annual Orange Helmet Awards Dinner, honours an individual who has been a trailblazer in advancing the sport of amateur football in BC and whose impact on the sport leaves a legacy that will be felt for generations.

Year Recipient
2004 Larry Reda
2005 Lorne Davies
2006 Lorne Cullen
2007 Ron White
2008 Frank Smith
2009 Bob Ackles
2010 Cal Murphy
2011 George Oswald
2012 Jack Armour
2013 Dr. Bill MacGregor
2014 Jerry Mulliss
2015 Joe Gluska
2016 Brian Olthuis
2017 Chris Beaton
2018 Denis Kelly

Click on Lifetime Achievement winners name for individual bios.

British Columbia Sports Hall of Fame

Canadian Football Hall of Fame

Canadian Sports Hall of Fame

Year Inductee
1991 Annis Stukus
2002 Jim Young
2010 Bob Ackles
2011 Lui Passaglia

Executive Emeritus

Honouring former members of the Board and former Trustees for their service to the BC Football Hall of Fame.

Years Served Name
2013 - 2015 David Podmore
2013 - 2018 Jack Farley

In Memoriam

Since 2011, the BC Football Hall of Fame has seen a number of our honoured inductees pass on. While they are no longer with us, their legacy will live on forever enshrined in the BC Football Hall of Fame.

Inductee Year passed
Bob Ackles Creator and Founder of the BC Football Hall of Fame, passed away on July 6, 2008.
Lorne Davies Inducted into the Builder's Category as part of the Class of 2011, passed away on February, 27, 2015.
Vic Spencer Recipient of the 2011 CFL Bob Ackles Award, passed away on August 20, 2015.
Dal Richards Recipient of the 2013 BCFHOF Special Award, passed away on December 31, 2015.
Don Barker Inducted into the Builder's Category as part of the Class of 2015, passed away on November 22, 2016.
Don Matthews Inducted into the Builder's Category as part of the Class of 2013, passed away on June 14, 2017.
James Parker Inducted into the Player's Category as part of the Class of 2014, passed away on March 27, 2018.
Lorne Cullen Inducted into the Builder's Category as part of the Class of 2011, passed away on August 8, 2018.
Matt Phillips Inducted into the Builder's Category as part of the Class of 2016, passed away on September 22, 2018.
Jim Taylor Inducted into the Media Category as part of the Class of 2011, passed away on January 7, 2019.
Ken "Kato" Kasuya Recipient of the 2017 CFL Bob Ackles Award, passed away on April 24, 2019.

Bookmark and Share